Durham University Conservative Association

The Official Facebook Page of the Durham University Conservative Association

Durham University Conservative Association

United Kingdom
Contact Phone
P: ---


Welcome to DUCA - Durham University Conservative Association is the largest, fastest-growing and most active political society on offer at the University! Follow in the footsteps of former members Edward Leigh MP, Crispin Blunt MP, Graham Brady MP, Edward Timpson MP and James Wharton MP and join us to play a part in DUCA's future. From high-profile speaker addresses, campaigning events and hotly contested debates (whether over port, a pint, or even at a BBQ) to laid-back socials and a warm and friendly community, DUCA has something for everyone. To receive our regular news and events bulletins, join our mailing list by sending an e-mail to: conservative.association@durham.ac.uk Why not check out our website at: conservativeassociat.wix.com/duconservatives Don't forget to follow us on Twitter: @DUConservatives Welcome aboard! Presidents of DUCA: Graham Brady MP - St Aidan's College - 1987 James Wharton MP - University College Jules Hicks - St Mary's College - 2005-6 Jim Bligh - St Aidan's College - 2004-5 Sarah Hajibagheri - University College Patrick Hague - University College - Michaelmas 2008 Timothy Hughes - Hatfield College - Epiphany/Easter 2008 Joseph Barker-Willis - University College - Michaelmas 2009 Jack Stallworthy - University College - Epiphany/Easter 2010 Matthew Carson - St Cuthbert's Society - Michaelmas 2010 Rory White-Andrews - Van Mildert College - Epiphany/Easter 2011 Edward Bingham - Trevelyan College - Michaelmas 2011 Alexandra Burr - University College - Epiphany/Easter 2012 Megan Roberts - Trevelyan College - Michaelmas 2012 Miranda Jupp - University College - Epiphany/Easter 2013 Jonathan Duell - University College - Michaelmas 2013 Alexander Grant - St Cuthbert's Society - Epiphany/Easter 2014 Nikolai Kravets - Grey College - Michaelmas 2014 Freddie Woodruff - University College - Epiphany/Easter 2015 Rhys Tanner - College of St. Hild and Bede - Michaelmas 2015 Piers McKenzie-Baker - University College - Epiphany/Easter 2016 'Freedom with Responsibility - Liberty with Respect' 'Freedom with Responsibility - Liberty with Respect'

Company Rating

3 Facebook users were in Durham University Conservative Association. It's a 2 position in Popularity Rating for companies in Political Organization category in Durham, Durham

495 FB users likes Durham University Conservative Association, set it to 2 position in Likes Rating for Durham, Durham in Political Organization category

It's not long until Michaelmas term begins at Durham! Be sure to join our Facebook group to keep up to date with our upcoming events: https://www.facebook.com/groups/duconservatives/

Published on 2015-09-20 08:30:53 GMT

Congratulations to those that got into Durham today! Whether you're a traditional Tory, Burkean, One Nation, a moderate, classical liberal, radical libertarian or anything in-between, we'd love to welcome you to DUCA. We're a society for C/conservatives, politicos, activists or anyone who just enjoys a decent social event. We'll soon be announcing our term-card full of a wide variety of events: Port and Policy, panel discussions, bar crawls, pub quizzes, guest speakers, black-tie socials and a trip to Westminster. To keep up to date with the latest DUCA events please join our Facebook group (https://www.facebook.com/groups/duconservatives/), follow us on Twitter (@DUconservatives), keep an eye on our website (http://conservativeassociat.wix.com/duconservatives) and sign up to our mailing list at the Freshers' Fair. See you in October! Rhys Michaelmas 2015 President

Published on 2015-08-13 09:00:01 GMT

Paul Abbott explains why the party's archaic membership system is in desperate need of an update: http://www.conservativehome.com/thecolumnists/2015/08/paul-abbott-our-partys-membership-system-needs-to-be-abolished-and-rebuilt-for-the-modern-age.html

Published on 2015-08-03 08:10:45 GMT

Congratulations to those that received IB results yesterday! We look forward to welcoming all Conservatives and conservatives to Durham in October! Why not get in touch to let us know you might like to join or to ask any questions?

Published on 2015-07-07 09:38:38 GMT

Congratulations to Crispin Blunt MP, a DUCA alumnus, on his election as Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Select Committee!

Published on 2015-06-18 00:07:08 GMT

Don't forget to come along to this exciting event! Looking forward to seeing you all there https://www.facebook.com/events/666913443441285/

Published on 2015-06-18 09:50:49 GMT

Looking forward to seeing you all at this veritable cornucopia of festive cheer and atmospheric jubilance of oriental charm https://www.facebook.com/events/1454705204823478/

Published on 2015-06-02 17:07:00 GMT

The City of Durham and Easington Conservative Association have invited you all to their AGM on the 28th May. (This is an event by the local association, not DUCA - our AGM is going to be in the first two weeks of June) "The Annual General Meeting of the City of Durham and Easington Conservative Association will be held on Thursday 28th May at the Honest Lawyer Hotel, Croxdale, DH1 3SP. Come and enjoy a drink 7pm for 7.30pm. The meeting will be addressed by Association President, Frank Nicholson. Officer nominations should have signed support from two qualifying members and be received by the Secretary before Monday 25th May. The minutes of the last AGM will be available on the night however if you are unable to attend and would like to receive a copy please let me know. AGENDA 1. Welcome and opening remarks by Association President, Mr Frank Nicholson 2. Apologies for absence 3. Minutes of the AGM held 1 April 2014 4. Matters arising 5. Chairman’s report 6. Treasurer’s report 7. Women’s Group Report 8. Election of auditor 9. Election of officers; President Chairman Deputy Chairman Political Treasurer Secretary Additional Officer Fundraising Additional Officer Conservative Policy Forum Additional Officer Easington Representative Additional Officers (2) Area Council Representatives (4) plus Chairman 10. Any other business"